You are here

Preysal Govt crowned Atlantic champs

Saturday, June 16, 2018
Anil Seunath, left, Branding and Sponsorships Officer at Atlantic joins the ecstatic Rio Claro Hindu pupils after their win of the Atlantic Primary Schools U-11 title.

Preysal Government is the 2018 Atlantic National Primary Schools champions after a convincing win in the final over Montrose Government at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba on Thursday night.

The fans came out to support primary schools cricket, the night before the Eid Holiday and got a glimpse into the future of T&T’s talent pool. Preysal Government had first use of the strip for batting and they compiled a fighting 131/6 off their allotted 25 overs. Leading the run scoring for the Preysal boys was Marcus Persad who came in at the critical number three position to guide the innings. When the umpires call their innings, at the 25th over, he was unbeaten on 26, having struck three fours. He got support from N Fletcher who scored 20, Aneal Rooplal who made 19 and AK Rooplal who scored 12.

Montrose given the way it batted this season would have fancied winning the match by chasing down that victory target but it was not to be. They lost wickets at regular intervals and despite a stubborn 16 from K Thomas and 13 from A Nabee, they fell short at 106/9.

Aneal Rooplal who batted well earlier turned bowler and returned figures of 2/15 from his five overs that gave his team the win and the championship. He was adjudged best bowler, while Persad for his 26 not out, copped the best batsman’s award.

In the girl's category, Cunaripo Presbyterian ran away winners of the title after defeating San Francique Presbyterian by 37 runs in their final clash.

Safiya Emmanuel with a hard fought 54 rallied Cunaripo to 143/6 off its allotted 20 overs. San Francique was then restricted through fine bowling by Samantha Hosein. She grabbed four wickets for 15 runs to bring the victory home, as San Francique made 106 for nine wickets. Hosein ended a memorable season for Cunaripo and led from the front, ensuring her school left with the title.



Cunaripo Pres 143/6 (20) (Safiya Emmanuel 54) vs San Francique Presbyterian 106/9 (20) (Samantha Hosein 4/15) - Cunaripo PRes won by 37 runs.


Preysal Gov’t 131/6 (25) (Marcus Persad 26no, N Fletcher 20, A Rooplal 19, AK Rooplal 12) vs Montrose Gov’t 110/7 (A Nabee 13, K Thomas 16, Aneal Rooplal 2/15) - Preysal won by 21 runs.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.